Not working: upgrading Ubuntu from 14.04 to 16.x

I was upgrading Ubuntu from 14.04 to 16.x. I am new to Ubuntu. This is my first question on Ask Ubuntu.

It went well till well till the end. It downloaded all the new packages. While installing, towards the end I got following errors.

Could not install "initscripts."

The it gave the following message.

"Upgrade will continue, but the initscripts pakages may not be working safe. Please submit a bug report.

"subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1."

It gave following additional errors.

Couldnot install "plymuth."

Couldnot install "cgmanager."

Couldnot install "rfupdown."

Couldnot install the updrages.

The update has aborted.Your systemshould be in an unstable stage. A recovery will run now (dpkg-configure-a).

It showed version 16.x but with only one option. Shut-down. I did that. Then i had to install earlier version of 14.04 through factory image.

What do I do now?

did you try installing more than once? were you able to update and upgrade all of your packages on 14.04 before attempting the upgrade to 16.x?

1 Like

Frankly, Ubuntu upgrades donā€™t work. I have yet to meet a person that never had an issue with Ubuntu upgrades.

Therefore, it is recommended that one backs up everything needed (most of the time /home is sufficient to back up), then does a completely fresh installation of the newer OS version, after wiping the old one and then finally restoring the backup made in the first step.

2 Likes

Yes. I did. I updated and then upgraded all my packages on 14.04. In fact I did that after reading the following post from @abhishek.

I did the above two times. But the end result was the same.

Thank you @Akito. How do I do a fresh installation?