Question for OpenSuse Users: Why?

I’ve used quite a few distros at one time or another. I’ve tried to use OpenSuse a couple of times but ended up switching. I’m planning to take another look at it soon. If you are an OpenSuse user, could you explain why you use it over Ubuntu or Manjaro (or what have you)?

I’m not trying to pick a fight or anything like that. I want to learn from actual users, why they use it. I have found asking this question very helpful in the past.

Thanks

4 Likes

I love OpenSuSE because when I was a newbie I found opensuse was easy to configure and troubleshoot. As I grew in command line experience, it became easy to configure using the command line. I have said somewhere around here that OpenSuSE is designed to appeal to the newbie, the leave-windows-behind user, the normal user, the experimenter, the admin, the web designer, the app designer, and the expert. All those types of people are taken care of by the OpenSuSE designers/coders.

They currently have two versions of their OS. Leap and Tumbleweed. Leap is a normal, stable version which gets updated every year or two, but Tumbleweed is for the adventurist as it is a rolling version. It constantly gets the latest software which may not be stable.

1 Like

Circa 2002 to 2007 - Suse (before it was called OpenSuse) was my main “goto” distro… I used to run it as my home NAS, did some desktop stuff on there - and even ran a forum on it …

But I also found Ubuntu in 2005 (when VMware launched their “player” and I found a “browser appliance” in their virtual appliance downloads, and it was running Ubuntu) and I reallly liked it - installed it on a Toshiba laptop and everything just worked - plug and play, wifi, everything - better than Windows XP! Then I got like a box of Ubuntu 6.04 CD’s shipped to me for free!!!