A stock Gnome distro suggestion request and a few questions

Hi, guys!

I recently bought a new HP Envy 13 which came with Licensed Win11. I just set it up and i guess now is the time to set a fresh Linux OS alongside with the Win. I have some knowledge, but I could use your help.

1. Please suggest to me a distro which has as much as possible of the following (I list them starting from those of highest priority to lower):
  • Relatively easy installation and operation
  • Stock Gnome (I hate skins and themes)
  • Good knowledge base and community
    The perfect case scenario would be Ubuntu with Stock Gnome.
  1. Please tell me the most elegant way to have Win and Linux on the same machine. I have some experience with GRUB, but when i decide to go back all-in on Windows, i always mess the full removal of Linux and i end up reinstalling Windows and all its software.

I dont use any special software or some files out of the ordinary, so i guess the app store wouldnt be that big of a problem.

Thank you.

The biggest problem with a duel Windows Linux setup is when you want to upgrade to a new release of Windows. You have to do a fresh Windows install and that tends to interfere with grub.
To avoid this the simplest setup is to have a two disk machine, with Windows with its own bootloader on one disk, and Linux with grub on the other disk. You can choose which disk to boot from using the bios options.

Debian with Gnome is almost as good as Ubuntu with Gnome.
Also Solus with Budgie (which is gnome based) is quite simple and attractive.

Regards
Neville

1 Like