Animation Suggestoins

I would like suggestions for a simple animation program for a noob. I’ve read several articles, but don’t have a clear idea of which direction to go.

My current goal is to make animated phonics books for young learners that will be in a LibreOffice Impress presentation. I have made animated stories with Google Slides that were a big hit and will need presentation features for class. Now I want to go further.

Future goals: I’m currently stuck on Widows* 10 (BIOS doesn’t support Linux :face_with_symbols_over_mouth: ) but the next PC will be a straight Linux machine. I am looking for compatibility with other programs. If the books work well, I want to be able to transfer as much of the material as possible to different programs to upgrade, make into video versions, etc. (If all I can transfer are the words and vector images, that’s ok. I know I’m a noob.)

LO Impress animations are more complex than G Slides, so this may be the best option? A program that I can use to move characters into different poses and paste into LO Impress might also be a good option. Other than LO Impress, the following seem to have potential:

GIMP: has basic 2d animation ability, from what I’ve read. I’ve used it before, but struggled for a simple graphic. Seems like it has a long learning curve.

Pencil 2d: gets high marks but seems to be geared toward creating original artwork? (I lack the skill & time for that. I plan to use vector images as much as possible.)

OpenToonz: This looks to have potential, though still complicated. How long does it take to learn?

Any other FOSS suggestions?

Thanks all for any ideas you may have.

*Not a typo. It’s Widows b/c I feel nothing but grief and want to weep when using it.