Black screen when trying to login

I upgraded my ubuntu to 20.04 3 data ago and all was fine till today.
I was trying to open ubuntu and after hitting at selection prompt, it tried to load ubuntu but ended with black screen. I seen a post on similar issue by adding nomodeset at linux line after E to edit the grub but it did not work for me. I am stuck and urgent hint will be really appreciated?

fipoucat

1 Like

Welcome @fipoucat to It’s Floss Community. I use Linux Minx and never seen a black screen during logon. But then again I am kind of new to Linux. Things that come to mind.

1. What did you change last and can you boot an USB live stick and back out the change?
  2. Restore your system to you last good working backup. Maybe Timeshift?
  3. Ubuntu is so quick & easy to install that you could easily spend more time trying to fix this black screen problem then it would be to just re-install it.

PS: This is probably not the answer you were looking for.

Did you make some changes to settings lately? Maybe your desktop somehow got corrupted.

One way to handle is to reinstall GNOME desktop.

On the login screen, use Ctrl+Alt+F1 or Ctrl+Alt+f2, Ctrl+Alt+f5 or a combination of Fn key like this.

One of these shortcuts will take you to terminal screen. You can login using your username and password.

And then reinstall the gnome desktop using this command:

sudo apt install --reinstall ubuntu-gnome-desktop

2 Likes

I followed the instructions, login with user and passwd and then use the reinstall command:
sudo apt install --reinstall ubuntu-gnome-desktop

The system reinstalled the packages with success, but when I reboot, got again the same black screen.

Should I do something else?

Did you use live media to install Ubuntu? If not, then you might consider.

No, I upgrade from 18.04 to 20.04 and all was fine. The last time I used it all was OK I did not change anything and shutdown properly. I was then surprised with this black screen!