Conky lightweight system monitor

anybody else here a conky user/fan? i think i first encountered it in parted magic while using the ultimate boot cd back when i was still running window$ and trying to learn troubleshooting. i thought it was pretty cool to see stuff like ram/cpu usage and stats right there on my desktop.

installation is fairly easy on the distros i have tried (ubuntu-based, debian-based and manjaro) so far. as usual @abhishek has a nice summary article about it. the configuration file that allows the user to change settings is a plain text file. it can takes some time to get used to the variables and options. there is also a manager program (it wasn’t super reliable the last time i used it [which was probably a couple of years ago now] so i started playing around with the individual options myself) that Abhishek mentions in his article which may be helpful for beginners.

mine is in no way very complicated (though it did take me plenty of experimentation to come up with one i liked. first pic below). it just presents several of the system stats i like to keep an eye on (memory, cpu, internet upload and download volume/speed) right there on the desktop any time i am curious about what is going on behind the scenes. some distros/DE’s are better at creating the transparent background than others. mine example is on antiX. on bodhi (without any kind of screen compositor) it’s background window is a black (or whatever color the user chooses) box. there are some amazing ones that can be found (second pic below: purportedly on elementary os) by doing a quick web search, but (as Abhishek mentions in his article) some of them are very outdated and may not run on a user’s specific system.

2 Likes