Cross-reference of Windows (or Mac) apps/programs with best Linux Substitutes

I’m a newbie both to Foss Community and also to Linux. I took a couple of tries to finally load Mint Cinnamon on an older Dell laptop (with the core running slower than i3). I play around with it and some of the apps that are common to Windows and Linux, such as Brave for browser, DuckDuckGo for search engine, LibreOffice for MS Office, etc.

But wondering if there is a general cross-reference chart that is operational for determining for ANY distro - by task/function - what the best Linux apps/programs are, and why you have found them so to be.

Thanks in advance!

I’ll kick it off with some of my favourite apps :

Mac / Windows                     Linux
- CorelDraw / Illustrator         Inkscape
- Music player (?)                Sayonara
- Office 365                      There is no substitute
- Office 365**                    Libre Office (if we're talking simple spreadsheets and formatted text - see below) 

Actually - considering I don’t run Windows - I’m probably not the best person to address this. I do run MacOs though…

If you’re collaborating with colleagues MS Office documents - and they’re smashed full of hideous corporate logos and management preambles and templated headers and footers - I’m afraid there’s only one choice :
Office 365 (90% of which works flawlessly in a modern web browser like Chromium, Brave or MS Edge [the Chromium based Edge]). I’ve recently come out the other side of having to edit a bunch of BUTT UGLY documents with revision markers and comments, crapped out with corporate logos and bullshit management language (thats speaks paragraphs, but SAYS NOTHING) - I ended up doing about 50% online with Office Web, and the other 50% with the MS Office application on my Mac… Just opening and saving one of these documents in Libre Office could potentially destroy all the formatting - so I won’t go there, and I didn’t.

2 Likes

Hello and welcome.