Edit samba share, when IP changes

I am on Xubuntu 20.04 LTS. I have a samba share on it, with Windows 10 that is running in VirtualBox. VirtualBox has a bridged network connection.

I made a shortcut to the samba share in Thunar.
It looks like this:
smb://10.0.0.4/users/MEOW/Dropbox/
It works great.

Problem is the IP of the VM changes every once in a while. I tried setting a static IP for it, but I had to give that up, because sometimes it prevented the VM from connecting to the network altogether.
So, I could make a new Thunar shortcut every time the IP changes, or… maybe there is a way to edit the shortcut?

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=93038

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=91156

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=49066

It’s hard to find a clear solution to this issue. Sometimes this means, the solution is easier to fix than one might’ve thought.

Just use avahi… if you’re using Ubuntu (or debian jessie/buster/stretch) or downstream like Mint or whatever - it’s just “outta the box” functionality…

e.g. I can hook up all my Linux boxes - plus BSD and even Window and Macs in my home LAN using avahi… e.g. using ssh, or even things like accessing the webui on ResilioSync

e.g. my NAS is baphomet.local - my desktop machine (ubuntu) is titan.local etc etc…

Avahi comes as pretty much running by default in most modern Debian based distros (e.g. Debian and Ubuntu) and default behaviour is each node is {HOSTNAME}.local - i.e. “.local” is the default suffix…

e.g. ssh to my desktop machine :
ssh titan.local
e.g. point my browser to ResilioSync WebUI running on my desktop machine :
https://titan.local:8888/

I had issues a few years back trying to get it to work on CentOS / RedHat / Oracle Linux (and gave up).

“Avahi” has different names on proprietary platforms - there are other names like “zeroconf” and “bonjour”… but its all based on the same guff…