GIMP flatpak plugins - where are they stored

I am using GIMP 2.10.24 (Flatpak) with GMIC Flatpak Plugin on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS.

My GMIC plugin occasionally vanishes from GIMP Filters menu. Last time it did that I just reinstalled flatpak and it turned up again.

Where do GIMP flatpak plaugins reside, and does the GIMP → preferences → Folders have to point to those folder?

That was the rule when I was using GIMP from the official Ubuntu repository. But when I moved to flatpaks, I am not sure if the same rule applies (because flatpak is a sandboxed???) I am not a techie, but have some knowledge of CLI. I read a post somewhere that GIMP flatpak plug-ins like GMIC, Resynthesizer, Liquid Rescale etc. are now installed by default with flatpak GIMP. But could not find a clear description of where GIMP flatpak plugins are located and what changes (if any) are needed in GIMP flatpak preferences/folders to use them.

I didn’t use the Flatpak install as I ran across too many issues online with it.
You can put the plugins anywhere you like as long as you tell GIMP where they are.
Hope this helps.

1 Like

Have discovered this link that seems to have some answers embedded within itself.

Looks like-
(1) flatpak gimp plugins are packaged and installed differently. Not sure if those folders must be listed in the GIMP–Preferences–folders. Probably not??
(2) The method to install non-flatpak plugins by specifying the relevant plugin folders in GIMP preferences still works.

Not sure if these conclusions are correct. Will explore further.