How can I throttle the CPU Power in Ubuntu to prevent over heating?

This is my 1st post here and I’m a newbie to Ubuntu.

I’m running a CPU intensive application on my Ubuntu LTS 20.04 that has a 4 core, 8 thread Intel Xeon processor.

Is there an application or Terminal Command that will allow me to adjust the overall maximum processor power state to the CPU?

Reason I ask is the application I’m running pushes the CPU usage to 100%. There is a setting that allows me to limit the number of threads being used. I have set this to a single thread, but because the software still runs at 100%, it overheats and the system shuts down ungracefully. What I need is a way to limit the overall maximum processor state to prevent over heating across all cores & threads.

I’m in need of the equivalent functionality to what Windows provides in it’s “Power Options” dialogue box (see below)
Power-options-Windows

Does anyone have any ideas whether this is possible in Ubuntu? Thanks in advance.

I’ve used that a lot and it works well. Though, you have to specificy a specific program which should be throttled. As far as I know, it does not work globally for the whole OS.

2 Likes

The answer may lay in your AC power adapter. I found I was using a original AC adapter rated @ 65watts for a Lenovo 310 Desktop with 4G ram and 1T to be inadequate when I updated memory to 8G and installed a Nvidva 370. Every time I used FireFox, my CPU fan would wail like a siren.

1 Like

Hi @StableGenius , Thanks for this tip. You got me thinking as I did upgrade my Lenovo M93p Tiny (Tiny Desktop) from 8GB to 12GB DDR3 RAM and swapped the traditional HDD 7200 rpm (Seagate) with a Samsung EVO SSD. Hence I may need to upgrade my AC Adapter.

But before I do that, is anyone aware of some software for Ubuntu that measures the Power usage (Watts) similar to this Windows app (see below - red boxed areas)