How to update debian 10.4 to newest version + packages

Im running Debian buster 10.4 how do i up grade to the newest version ** I forgot the version number ** and the security packages with it ? Im still a newbie so bare with me.

What exactly do you want to achieve? What are you running the distribution on?

2 Likes

From what I saw on the internet, 10.4 is the current (newest) release of Debian.
At web site Debian -- News -- Updated Debian 10: 10.4 released
if says that ā€œUpgrading an existing installation to this revision can be achieved by pointing the package management system at one of Debianā€™s many HTTP mirrors.ā€

2 Likes

10.5 was just released on 1 august (release notes). the upgrade instructions are the same as you usually use with apt update and apt upgrade or if your desktop environment has a graphical update manager that can also be used.

i make backups of my system for all updates, but would especially suggest one in your case since red hatā€™s (i know itā€™s not related to debian, but the fix was for similar issues and vulnerabilities) most recent update left some systems unbootable: always better safe than sorry.

2 Likes

I`m running it a standard PC Hdd. I want to upgrade to the debian 10.5 & any security updates + package updates to curent versions.

1 Like

There is a rather easy and simple solution for your situation:
Create a big backup of your whole PC setup. Once you verifiy the backup is created successfully and can be restored from, knock yourself out with upgrading, i.e. just go for it.

Wont work i got a error message permission denied.

what wonā€™t work?

my main question though is how do you normally update your system?

2 Likes

apparently the issue was more widespread than i first read:

1 Like

Thats what im asking how to normally update the OS + Installed packagesā€¦Im a newbie so im not adept with the cli or linux in general.

1 Like

to update on a regular debian installation from a terminal, the first command is just:
su