Installing WiFi dongle software on Macbuntu

I’m trying to install WiFi dongle on macbuntu

I’ve double clicked install in the Linux folder on the driver cd

It went through a kind of command line automation

Is that how software is installed on Ubuntu? I’m new to this, usually use Windows and Mac.

I can’t see the WiFi driver software anywhere

You’ll probably have to google for the chipset, and if you’re lucky, the chipset vendor might have a Linux driver as source code, then you have to download that source code, and install a full “build” environment (usually something like “sudo apt install build-essential” takes care of most of the heavy lifting getting make and a C compiler installed).

i.e. if Ubuntu doesn’t “plug and play” it - then it’s not supported “out of the box”.

1. source code from vendor - compile it (read the README file with the source code!)
  2. no source code or driver, and you can’t use it with Linux

I wish you luck young adventurer, in your quest!

So you have to go through all of that to install something on Linux?

No. You are talking about a piece of relatively low-level hardware. It’s always trickier with such devices, no matter if it’s on Linux, Windows or whatever.

It just happens to be the case, that more such software is available for Windows, so it seems like it’s easier, but trouble can even happen on Windows with such low-level type stuff. I can author an entire book about such experiences…

1 Like

No - hardly ever - me? I ONLY use Linux (well - tell a lie - I also use MacOS)

As I mostly ONLY use Linux, I ONLY buy hardware that works, with Linux, out of the box. e.g. I wanted to try Kali recently - so - I bought USB WiFi dongles what were LINUX supported (out of the box on recent distros) - not only - but ALSO supporting “monitor mode”…