Is there anyone who is familiar with the FreeBSD software?

I am trying to find someone familur with this software that I might be able to have a conversation over it with them , Thier feelings about it etc,

I can’t actually speak to it, but just yesterday I was talking to an old friend of my son’s, who runs servers for a large company. He built a firewall server using BSD on an older piece of hardware, and was extolling its virtues: very solid, trouble-free.

I am seeint that they have all kinds of cool stuff. My problem is I am not a developer in any sense It i just start getting comfortable with all the linux package. But I was goiing to down load the ports bsd software because you need it for almost anything you do on their ssystem. There are parts i am trying to get help installing but I am trying to do it wiht out the whole worls knowing i have it

Don’t ask me specifics - but - I love :heart_eyes: :heart_eyes: FreeBSD…

But - having said that… I don’t run it “per se”… I use FreeNAS as my NAS solution, have done so for well over 10 years… and I’ve been running it on the actual same piece of “kit” since December 2011 (so HAPPY 10th anniversary to my HP NL40 Microserver*).

I can tell you one thing, my ZSH shell on my FreeNAS system, running FreeBSD 11.x is as good as my Ubuntu systems running ZSH. I can run all my scripts that I’d normally run on a Linux system (most of them work on any Ubuntu or Debian system) without modification on my ZSH shell account ($HOME) on my FreeNAS / FreeBSD environment.

I do occasionally run FreeBSD as a desktop OS, but not too often - I’m lazy, and I’m happy with the way everything works on my Ubuntu systems, my RPI’s running Debian, and even my MacBook Pro M1, with Big Sur 11.6 (note : MacOS is considered a variant / derivative of FreeBSD) - where I run iTerm2 and ZSH…

FreeBSD can do everything that Linux can, arguably more efficiently, some big name vendors choose FreeBSD to run their appliances over the Linux kernel :