KDE NEON(20.04) vs Ubuntu Mate (20.04)

I have been using Ubuntu Mate for years, and I have been happy with it. Lately, I’ve been playing around with KDE Neon, and I’m starting to like it better, definitely better looking. Both on dual boot Linux/Win10.

I am running KDE from USB drive and Mate from internal HDD. The computer is an old PC, Dell Precision Workstation T3400, 8 gig ram, Core 2 duo E8400@3 Ghz. (Upgrading the computer is not an option unless someone wants to send me a few hundred bucks!)

So…I’d like to hear your experience and opinions which of the two you think is better (speed, ram use, inteface, whatever, etc.) and why?

Google is not the answer; I need personal experiences!

Thanks!

1 Like

I have been running KDE for 10 years now. Recently, I tried XFCE, but could not get it to configure as easily as KDE.

I run KDE with Wayland on OpenSuSE Tumbleweed (Their Rolling Release) and I am very happy. I sometimes wonder if I am missing out on another experience, but always go back to OpenSuSE and KDE.

Wayland is new and I like it fine.

I will download them today and install on separate SSD’s and let you know my experience through video, rather than typing. I’ll post my video to YouTube and leave link here. I like doing videos as I can show you in real time as you’re seeing it on screen. I’m not good enough to make money out of it, but have the tech and the know how to make videos. Not bothered about people subscribing or liking my content, just do it mainly as a hobby and to get me away from real life for a while. I’m hoping to get video up by tomorrow afternoon, as tonight is my last night for this week of Night Shifts, got three nights off Whoopie Goldberg do. :grinning:

Clatterfordslim, Thank you for your response.

That sounds like a lot of trouble and honestly all I am looking for are people’s opinions who have tried both. I already know what they look like, and I doubt I’ll be spending time watching a video.