Looking for a distro for my Latitude D630

I’m planning to dualboot all of my old computers (mostly Windows Vista and 7 era machines) with Linux so they can have a bit more usability as more and more apps drop support for those old Windows versions, you’ll probably be seeing a lot of topics from me in the next few days. All machines will be used for just standard daily use tasks (web browsing, listening to music, watching youtube, etc.). I’m not a Linux expert but I do have quite a bit of experience with Debian and Arch based distros. Being able to dualboot with Windows is not a requirement for this machine since I’m planning to wipe the current Windows XP install.
Specs:
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo T7250
GPU - Intel GMA X3100
RAM: 2x2GB Samsung 800MHz DDR2
Storage: 120GB Fujitsu 5400RPM HDD
Make/Model: Dell Latitude D630
WiFi: Dell DW1395
Audio: SigmaTel STAC9205
Ethernet: Broadcom NetXtreme 5755m

1 Like

Linux mint LMDE and possible 32 bit version is what I would put on this or similar aged machines to give it a possible future life.
Otherwise lubuntu as a second choice.
I have done both on the older machines and been quite happy with the continued use.

Welcome to the forum @Ella. I hope the information you find here will be useful for you.

I would suggest you look at one of the It’s Foss articles https://itsfoss.com/lightweight-linux-beginners/ and it has the title of " Best Lightweight Linux Distributions for Older Computers"

I would also strongly suggest replacing the 120 GB HDD with a 120 GB SSD. I just checked the price of them and it can be purchased for less then US $15. At one site I saw it for less then $11.

Good Luck

3 Likes

My vote is for Debian with LXDE.
Or Enlightenment if you want something fancy. (The todays web browsing will be sloooooowww anyway on that machine, no matter what a light distro you find.)

2 Likes

@Ella ,