Lost Gigabytes & Systemd Files -- Any Correlation?

Hello! I am new to Ubuntu/Linux and could use some help with this problem I experienced yesterday.

I was attempting to open a zip file, but something interrupted the process. I deleted the zip file. But then I discovered that my free space was short about 5 or 6 Gigabytes. I am guessing this space was used up by some kind of temporary file.

In looking for temporary files, I found the following:

Could these systemd-private folders be holding 5 gigs worth of files? I was unable to access their properties because they are locked.

Are there other temp files that could be using up those gigs?

I would like to get those 5 gigs back. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

Greetings,

thank you for the screenshot, that makes life easier to detect what is going wrong.

If you generally would like to have more of your storage available, I can recommend cleaning tools for Linux. They are easy to use.

This is the one I know. Maybe there are other & better ones out there.

Some useful hints for freeing space on Ubuntu:

And as @Akito said, there are some tools to help you out.

But what is up with those locked files, I don’t know either.

But a quick search brought up this:

and in slightly other words from an IBM FAQ:

The /var/tmp directory is made available for programs that require temporary files or directories that are preserved between system reboots. Therefore, data stored in /var/tmp is more persistent than data in /tmp . Files and directories located in /var/tmp must not be deleted when the system is booted.

So don’t rush things when it comes to deleting some “unknown” or “unnecessary” files…
Have you rebooted yet and are they still there?

Greetings