Making my own pc, and I dont want windows (new to linux)

So like the title I am building my own pc, but I don’t want Windows.
I had Windows for school and I was using a laptop, but now that I am building my own pc I don’t want Windows and will not touch Apple. So I am looking for a Linux that has all Issues online as I was a programming student and won’t be scared off by a terminal or troubleshooting somewhat.
This PC is a home PC and will be using it mainly for gaming the type of games are lol not Valorant, Steam, SteamVR, and Minecraft.
In the PC there will be AMD GPU and CPU.
And while I don’t know if this is relevant I live in Europe.

Small Edit :
Video card is like 220 days old
Processor is 305 ish
RAM is 64GB DDR5-6000
I saw so questions about sound card i don’t have one in my build? is that bad tho.

2 Likes

welcome to the community Nathan :slight_smile:

Welcome to “It’s Foss Community” @Nathan_V. Being a programming student, I am sure you will not have any problem reading reviews and selecting a Linux version (Distro) or two to try. My only word of caution is Linux is sometimes a little behind in supporting the latest & greatest hardware, like GPU’s & CPU’s.

I hope you meant Europe. Europa is kind of far away.

Good Luck with your building your PC.

1 Like

fixed the Europa.
Always fun when you’re native language screws you over.
As for reading reviews, I just don’t really know were to start, thats also why I asked for help.

Hi @Nathan_V,
I was a new to Linux 4 years ago. I came from using Windows and I thought I knew Windows pretty good. I also knew programming and was not afraid to try things. I learn in Win that if you had a good backup / restore procedure then you could not mess (screw) yourself up. If something went badly wrong, all you had to do was restore your system.