My Linux debut with Ubuntu 18.04 LTS

Though not a software engineer, but having retired out of the engineering profession and having dealt with MS Windows for a while, I had got vexed up with the hassles of dealing with half baked Windows 10 Updates in recent times. While surfing on the internet, I happened to come across and read quite a few articles on how to learn Linux; the ones written in simple English by Mr Abhishek Prakash on “itsFoss.Community” website caught my attention in particular. Fascinated and impressed by Mr Abhishek’s articles and virtually getting self motivated, I decided to make a beginning as a total novice to delve deeper into Linux, driven by the urge and inclination to learn something new as a senior citizen, with spare time in hand. I wish to briefly summarize the efforts so far made by me:

1.  Uninstalled Windows 10 (though not doing away with it totally – may reinstall it later, after its performance stabilizes) from my computer and initially installed Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, which over time has got updated currently to its latest 18.04 LTS version. My experience so far of having dealt with simple Linux coding on the terminal has been interesting, inspiring and invigorating, with Abhishek’s articles acting as the triggers for driving me to self learning. To begin with, it did not appear as difficult as I originally thought it would be.

2. I am in the process of getting familiarized with the execution of the basic commands on the Ubuntu terminal and I am thoroughly enjoying the experience.