NixOS -- Install root certificate

I want to install a root certificate in NixOS. I am a Nix noob. I asked on other forums, and I got basically the same answer, which is pasted below, but I still don’t understand what I need to do.
Maybe someone can tell me how to actually do this? It doesn’t sound so hard, but I am missing the baby steps.
" Get the cert manually and add it to security.pki.certificates should do"

"consider trying to add the certificate file using

NixOS Search + nixos-rebuild "
https://www.reddit.com/r/NixOS/comments/11p3s7r/comment/jbwxnc1/?%2524deep_link=true&correlation_id=cb8f7848-beb1-41c1-b0e1-90e7b9c4ea5a&ref=email_post_reply&ref_campaign=email_post_reply&ref_source=email&%25243p=e_as&_branch_match_id=1163756506088724368&utm_medium=Email%20Amazon%20SES&_branch_referrer=H4sIAAAAAAAAA3VOzWrDMAx%2BmuyWpK6zJS2UUhg7boc9gJEdpdXm2EZ2SPf2U9h2HEjo4%2FtDt1JSPrYt4zhSaSClxlP4bHU6V%2FtOpxMayA8CI9OVAnizsD%2FdtlSlL9X%2BRWZd1%2BY37%2BIsBMu%2B0v3tXa4wM4aSBSqVdO43kUIu4L3hGItxyIUmclBQpA%2B73oNTW7OW8m5ETGZ7qdLPhRexPLnIjB4KxWBoFN7ZYeqHbqgtWlV3yqna7lDVhx329uA6hEeQHOMkZpyBvEkxF8OY%2FNePYBzMCega%2FnfkuLDDP%2F0bg17nCjkBAAA%3D

Can you use a live distro booted from a usb drive to download it, and then mount the NixOS filesystem and write it to wherever it belongs?

Well, I think I could get my computer on a different network, and install NixOS normally, but when I bring it back to my regular network, I will need to get that cert working.

This is really a different question but I am wondering if I should install SnowflakeOS instead. I have the ISO. It won’t solve my cert problem, but maybe it is good for other reasons?

Problem with Snowflake is the installer forces me to delete and recreate my EFI partition. That’s a hassle on a multiboot system.

Indeed, any distro that wants to create its own efi partition at install time is a non-goer in a multiboot situation. Stay with distros whose installer allows you to bypass the partitioning step altogether.