Opensuse Tumbleweed update question

Hi all,
I am still learning and trying things in Opensuse Tumbleweed. When trying the command “tumbleweed update” to install latest snapshot I wondered what the difference is to “Zypper dist-upgrade”…
Can anyone give me a hint?

1 Like

I use “zypper dup” as administrator and that works wonders. Never hear of “tumbleweed update”

1 Like

Apparently that is a new function introduced in Tumbleweed.

Have a look here:

https://news.opensuse.org/2021/03/19/entire-rebuild-of-tw-brings-enormous-updates/

With “tumbleweed update” you can update to latest snapshot.
But still I wonder if you get the same updates with “zypper dup”.

1 Like

I don’t know for sure. I would assume when you use the “zypper dup” it gives you the whole snapshot as it tells you you are going from snapshot a to snapshot b.

Hi all,

I am still on OpenSUSE Tumbleweed…
Does anybody know what the diffrenece between the software update tool does different than “sudo zypper up” and “sudo zypper dup” in terminal?

P.S. How can I add the “OpenSUSE” category to this thread?

1 Like