Outdated Computers in Schools

Principals in Schools : We’ll talk about Nvidia , AI , Computer Science .

The unmaintained computers in the lab when CS students like us try to use them : Failure in the system .

Im a XI student who has just took Computer Science as optional subject and half of the time is wasted in troubleshooting the errors . …

In 2023 we’re using the old CRT monitors which consume more electricity, have flickering on screens .

Hi @Aman_Bhatnagar ,
I agree students need reasonable hardware… not necessarily the absolute latest, but it needs to be adequate for teaching and to be maintained.
Keeping computers uptodate in schools is a major issue. It is expensive to keep upgrading hardware and it takes a lot of management effort to keep the OS of multiple computers at a recent level.
In some situations students would be required to provide their own computer.
Regards
Neville

2 Likes

@nevj
Using a DDR1 RAM , old hdds which have reached end of their lifespan in schools , In my school students like us need to compile Java programs but :neutral_face:
End up fixing problems of Computer , Why can’t they hire a Sysadmin for that purpose ?

Computer Pc GIF by Squirrel Monkey

3 Likes

One option you may be able to impliment would be to get one reasonsbly modern computer set up as a server, and use the old computers just as terminals to the server.
It is easier to maintain one good server than a whole batch of assorted ageing computers.

2 Likes

It all depends on what school we are talking about here. And if the students are keen to learn about computers like basic coding, MS Office, etc. that can be done on these computers too.
Because, I’ve been in to schools where it was no computer facility at all! So in my opinion, we should focus on what we can squeeze out of those old machines, rather than criticizing the system.

2 Likes

Yes, that is the practical reality.