[Solved] Audio on Linux: Pipewire/Pulseeffects issue

Greetings Friends,

Trust all are doing well.

[As always, I’m no coder/linux expert, but can run simple commands, GUI actions etc.]

Facing a strange issue. So I discovered that there is something called Sound Server in Linux and it is generally pulseaudio or alsa. I’ve been using pulseaudio and was not happy so installed pulseeffects. Didn’t like it either and learned about Easyeffects/pipewire.

I installed easyeffects but it simply doesn’t load/open. Curiously, when I uninstall pulseeffects from Synaptic or command line, the process completes successfully and yet I see pulseeffects in the start menu! It is as if uninstalling does nothing to it.

I just want to switch over to pipewire/easyeffects from pulseeffects. Please help. I’m on MX Linux.

PS: I cannot thank this community enough! Life saver for those with minimalist/budget lifestyle. More power to itsfoss! :clap:t4: :clap:t4: :pray:t4: :pray:t4:

Regards

2 Likes

Hi Rohit,
If it does not run you did not install it properly
What sort of an install was it? Was it an MX package?

Neville! Glad to see you!

Umm…I ran some commands I found online, don’t remember which one…

Would you like me to run some other commands and post the results here, for diagnostic purposes?

Just to clarify, I do see the easyeffects icon in the start menu, but clicking on it does nothing (except that processing wheel icon and then…nothing).

sounds like there are some missing dependencies. Always a risk when you install from outside the package system
If you can find where the binary is, do
ldd nameofbinary
It will tell you which libraries it needs
Cheers
Neville

I don’t know how to do that…
Easyeffects was not listed in the MX linux package/software installation tools…so I ran that command…