Upgrading to Ubuntu 18.04 fails

I have been using Ubuntu for approximately eight years and obviously like it although my company only support Win10 so I’m agnostic, but prefer Linux by far. I also run other distros – usually four or more via Virtual Machines. Also Win10 and Win7 by VM. So far the VM have been very stable (although upgrades to Ubuntu 18 destroyed them, I had previously exported them for retrieval once I install Virtualbox again).

More boring background: This year I have updated two laptops and two desktops from U 17.10 to 18.04 and each update had problems ranging from the update installer selecting the wrong log-in manager (easy to fix once I figured out what was wrong) to the update would not boot on the other three installs. In one case reinstalling Ubuntu 18.04 choosing the option to just repair the OS fixed it with some fiddling. But in the other cases I had to wipe and reinstall – everything. All successfully but days were consumed getting everything back to where I like it.

That’s my History. Now I desire to update my Dell XPS with Ubuntu 16.04. Obviously, I’m really nervous as this is an expensive laptop that runs really well. It has only USB C connections for flash drives, ethernet, etc. A screw up could doom me. Especially since this is a factory install of Ubunu 16.04, I have no idea how to recover from the disaster. So why update? Well believe it or not, I really like the gnome desktop (with Dash to Panel) on Ubuntu and it is not well implemented on U 16.04. So do I bite the bullet the next time updater pops up telling me I can upgrade? Would Timeshift save me? or would clonezilla be the better way?

First post so I apologize for rambling and not being as organized as I usually am.

1 Like