Which email client is better than Thunderbird?

Hi,
I’ve been using Thunderbird for several years, but I’d like to try another email client that might be better than Thunderbird.
Do you know of a better email client than Thunderbird?

I’ve already seen this link from It’s FOSS, but do you know of any better ones that aren’t on this list?

Thank you

Jorge

2 Likes

The only email client I’ve used recently, for my gmail mailbox, was “geany” - worked well - but - I mostly can’t be arsed with mail clients - I ONLY use GMail through the web client - does everything I need (even if it is clunky, and a bit funky, compared to Outlook [I kinda hate Microsoft, or Windows more specifically] but MS Outlook runs rings around Google’s offering)…

I’ve got PST files and Eudora inbox archives stored on my NAS dating back 25+ years - but I never need them…

I kinda hate how the main distros I use, or tried recently (Ubuntu, Pop!_OS, Mint), insist on giving me Thunderbird - I ain’t got no use for it and first thing I do is remove it from my dock/panel.

1 Like

Hi Jorge, :wave:

I don´t know about “better”, but I´ll tell you what I use on a daily basis: It´s sylpheed.

Formerly , when running Lubuntu as my daily driver, I had thunderbird running during the entirety of any session.
As I´m on Linux Lite 6.2 now, which seems to be a tad more demanding on resources, at least as far as RAM is concerned, I switched over to sylpheed.

For archiving purposes I still have thunderbird, but I start it on dedicated occasions only.

For the sake of comparison I just had both of them running simultaneously.
Here are the values:

• top -p (pgrep thunderbird):
   PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU  %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND  
  15463 rosika    20   0 3324392 456416 210448 S   0,0  11,6   0:30.62 thunder+
  • top -p (pgrep sylpheed):
    PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU  %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND