A total beginner installing Linux Mint 19.1 on a Dell Studio 1558 Laptop

I use Windows on my PC and I would like to try Mint. Trying to do a fresh install of Mint 19.1 on a formatted/clean HDD on my older Dell Studio 1558 laptop. I am not a savvy IT person, do not work with DOS (not to mention I am over 70…). From one of the mirrors listed on linuxmint.com I downloaded ISO to the PC (Win 7) and using Rufus to USB stick. I did not verify, hoping everything would work. When it installed on the laptop I found out I was wrong, there are problems.
Thought I could do ISO integrity check, read all kinds of advice, but this is where I got stuck: simply putting, please give me a precise step by step guidance, sort of “How To… for Dummies”.
Again, I have Win 7 on my PC. (Cygwin?..) .
Thank you
Rad.

1 Like
  1. Download Linux Mint
  2. Download Rufus
  3. Verify the ISO’s integrity by clicking the green checkmark next to the ISO’s name within Rufus.
    The SHA256 checksum of the Mint 19.1 Cinnamon 64-bit image resulting within Rufus should match the following:
bb4b3ad584f2fec1d91ad60fe57ad4044e5c0934a5e3d229da129c9513862eb0
  1. If it does, burn the image onto the thumbdrive, ticking on “Check device for bad block”, “1 pass” and using partition scheme “GPT” and target system “UEFI (non CSM)”. Make sure you selected the correct thumbrive.
  2. Now boot into the USB drive and install the OS, overwriting the previous one entirely.
1 Like

quick procedural question @Akito, does he have to choose a DE before… i checked your link and see you went the cinnamon route. that was the gist of my question :slight_smile: i have not installed mint and wondered if it was best to make this choice at the start.