Can't restore firefox settings with .mozilla backup

Hi!

I have a feeling that the answer to this is something reeally basic and embarrassing. I’m not a “real” tech person, I’m a translator by trade, but this is one of my favourite features in Linux, and I’d love to get it working so here goes…

Recently (couple of weeks?) when installing a new distro I haven’t been able to restore the Firefox or Thunderbird settings by copying the .mozilla and .thunderbird directories from my backup to the home directory of my new install. It used to work like a charm and was such an awesomely easy way to move your settings to another machine/install. Has it changed somehow? When I start Firefox, it’s always a “fresh version” without my bookmarks or other settings. I’ve tried it on several distros and machines. Help?

I have an up to date Firefox and Thunderbird in Debian.
Here is what my dot files look like

nevj@mary:~$ ls -l .mozilla
total 12
drwx------ 2 nevj nevj 4096 Jan 28  2021 extensions
drwx------ 6 nevj nevj 4096 Jan 28  2021 firefox
drwx------ 2 nevj nevj 4096 Jan 28  2021 systemextensionsdev
nevj@mary:~$ ls -l .thunderbird
total 24
drwx------ 13 nevj nevj 4096 Apr 19 21:57  6ozfwg4n.default-default
drwx------  3 nevj nevj 4096 Apr 19 19:59 'Crash Reports'
drwx------  2 nevj nevj 4096 Feb 15  2021  gainyiif.default
-rw-r--r--  1 nevj nevj   62 Feb 15  2021  installs.ini
drwx------  2 nevj nevj 4096 Feb 15  2021 'Pending Pings'
-rw-r--r--  1 nevj nevj  259 Feb 15  2021  profiles.ini

So do you have all those directories and files in the files you copied in?
My Firefox is 98.1.0esr(64-bit) Thunderbird is 91.8…0(64-bit)

I dont know of any recent changes in the way .mozilla or .thunderbird are arranged.

If yours are the same… you must have to do something to Firefox to get it to look at uploaded config files instead of starting out as a new user.

Neville

Here’s what I have
Screenshot from 2022-04-20 14-16-58