How can I reinstate an accidentally deleted Downloads folder

Could someone explain how I can get back my home “downloads” folder with the icon that I deleted without realizing it (and already emptied the trash)? I tried to do this through the terminal but got stuck. I’m using Zorin 12.04 OS, Ubuntu 16.04 on a 64-bit system. Thank you! (Oh, and I’m new to computers, so talk to me as if I’m three, please.)

3 Likes

You could try PhotoRec, but for that you need some prior knowledge.

2 Likes

Thanks for your help Akito. I should have been more clear, however. I’m not trying to recover anything that was in the downloads folder, just the folder itself. I made a new folder to replace the one I deleted, but I like things to be right. I want the original folder that belongs in the bookmarked section of my menu. If that makes sense. : )

2 Likes

Provide me with the output of the command ls -ali1 /etc/skel

2 Likes

~$ ls -ali1 /etc/skel
total 36
7078009 drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 Aug 11 09:35 .
7077889 drwxr-xr-x 143 root root 12288 Oct 22 20:54 …
7080399 -rw-r–r-- 1 root root 220 Aug 31 2015 .bash_logout
7080400 -rw-r–r-- 1 root root 3771 Aug 31 2015 .bashrc
7080397 drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 Aug 11 09:35 .config
7080401 -rw-r–r-- 1 root root 655 May 16 2017 .profile
7080398 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Aug 11 09:37 Templates
Here you go. I have no idea what this means.

2 Likes

What about ls -ali1 /etc/skel/Templates?

If there is no Downloads folder in there, then do the following commands:

cd ~
mv .config .config.old
sudo cp -R /etc/skel/.config .
sudo shutdown -r now

Though, I don’t know if this would reset your other folders in your home directory, as well. Therefore I would recommend backing up the other folders, too, if you want to be safe.

2 Likes

Templates just has LibreOffice and Gimp in there.
I’ll give it a try. But I’m nervous.

2 Likes