Installing a home server - any advice?

Hi my friends,
I’m new to this subject and once again I’m trying to install a home server from scratch, but this time I want to have access from outside and I’m trying to implement all the information I can get, but I’d also like to know your opinion on this subject.
The server is being made with parts from an old PC. It’s basically to learn something more and also to learn docker.

I’ve only installed Ubuntu Server and I’m still working on the firewall configuration. I found some multicast errors, but I’ve eliminated them for now.
At the moment I only have the firewall responding to my main PC and, from the tests, I no longer have any errors in the ufw logs or identify anything abnormal in the syslog errors.

I already have a CloudFlare account for IP and to use the CloudFlare tunnel and access the apps on the docker that I can install, but I’d like to know, and right now only about the server, what basic protections I should have or add, to try to create a robust, well-configured server and clone disk just the server itself.

With your experience, can you recommend anything to do or configure, right now, just on the server?
For example:

• some initial configuration of the firewall more customized for this case;
  • some program to install to improve security;
  • precautions to be taken before opening the ip to the outside
  • etc

At the moment, with Daniel Tripp talking about fail2ban, I’m learning what it is because I don’t know it.

I’m not asking for help on how to install a server or how it works, but just tips on what you do to improve the security of your servers.

Thank you all in advance for your help with my request.

Happy Easter to everyone

Regards
Jorge

3 Likes

Hi Jorge,
The only thing here I have any experience with is building my
own docker containers. If you want to do that I can help.
I suspect that you just want to download and run docker containers. That is easy . Have a practice with the docker