Is it there an open-source free CAD to design stl. files for 3D printers hosts?

Hello Community,
Thank you for accepting me here. I’m looking forward to use Linux Mint 20 in all possible tasks and endeavors that I can during the rest of my life. I’m 66 years old-timer. I am a maker of 3D printers and drones though my background is more that of a self-made tech builder, counting with the help of open sources, tutorial sites, and videos on the net.
Since I’m not a one skilled like you guys and have tried to run solid-works with wine on Linux Mint with no success, I would like to know if there is an open-source free CAD to design stl. files for 3D printers hosts such as Repetier or Ponterface. Your suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Victor

2 Likes

this site (link: Free 3D Printing Software For Designing, Modeling, Slicing STL Files) says that Repetier is open source. the installation guide from Repetier is linked below with instructions on how to install it in linux with a few prerequisites:

All you need is .NET framework 4.0 or a recent Mono installation, if you are running Linux. The only other requirement is a graphic card with OpenGL. For a good rendering performance OpenGL 1.5 or higher is needed. With lower versions you may have speed issues with live preview.

2 Likes

Hi Victor,
Welcome to It’s FOSS
I think I can say “bem-vindo” (welcome in Portuguese)… :wink:

FreeCAD is open-source and here you could read more about FreeCAD licenses
Do you really need open source programs or can you use, for example, a free online 3D program, like TinkerCAD?

Hello,
Thank your for your answer. I tried that already with no success. I think I’m missing something. Do you know a free CAD program to design and produce stl. files for my homemade 3D printer?
I still have that 3D printer working with a small laptop with Windos XP.

Hello Tech_JA,
Thank you Jorge Augusto for your suggestions. They are very appreciated.