Problem with Libre Office Writer

I hope someone here can help with this as it is rather urgent. I am currently typing up a talk on ancient Egypt that I am going to give in the near future and half way through the document it is suddenly displaying very tiny print. Does anyone know why this could happen?

can you post a screenshot?

I am sorry to say that I do not know how to take a screen shot and I have been using Linux for five years and Windows for many years before that. I had another look at the page I was typing and already I discovered a work round. the last things I typed before the problem occurred was Ramses 1st – 11th - and of course the st and th were in a smaller font size automatically so what I typed after that was also very small. I erased them and typed the next line of text and then went back again and reinserted the 1st and 11th. I do not know why this happens but at least I know what to do in the future if the situation arises again. Thanks for the quick reply though.

1 Like

What about the PrintScreen button?

2 Likes

I use the mate screenshot utility and shutter for screenshots.

1 Like

In English language, it is a common practice to write 1st with st in small fonts on the top. LibreOffice did the correct thing by (possibly) automatically converting it to that format.

As far as solving the problem goes, I suggest use the right arrow key to move to the next white space after ‘st’ and start typing letters here. This might work.

2 Likes

In most of the mainstream distros, the PrtScn button takes a screenshot by default.

As for the issue in Libre, see abhishek’s reply above.

expanding a bit on what @abhishek explained, i found that writer was converting these ordinal number suffixes to superscript which you can see in the toolbar as the letter a with a smaller b beside and above it like so: