Summary of S6-66 in Antix init diversity spin

Summary of s6-66 exploration

Introduction

There was a long topic

in which I took a first look at the 66 Service Manager for the S6 init system.

I was fortunate to obtain assistance from

• @ProwlerGR – the author of the init diversity spins
  • @Obarun – the author of the 66 service manager and also creator of the Obarun distro which is Arch Linux with S6-66.

It is time for a summary.
This is a stage summary, not a tutorial.

We are fortunate to have been able to see this important development in its early stages, and we appreciate the assistance of @ProwlerGR and @Obarun.

Please make any corrections or modifications. I have learnt something, but I am by no means an expert.

Brief history of init systems

Some of the things a running Linux system does are outside of the kernel. These are either

• packages run in ‘user space’ , or
  • services ( also called daemon processes)
    Traditionally , after the kernel starts, it starts one process( called init) ,
    which consults some config files, which tell it what other daemon processses
    to start.
    Traditional daemon processes are slightly different to user-launched processes in that they are orphaned ( ie not owned by a shell). That mens they dont die, if you exit the shell… traditional daemons run forever… at least in theory.
    In practice, they die unexpectedly, and have to be manually restarted.
    That is the reality in a traditional init system like RC, sysVinit, or OpenRC.

At some point, it was decided that daemons need to be managed. That means that instead of fixing bugs in the daemon, we automatically restart it when it fails.
A whole spectrum of new init systems emerged – Upstart, Systemd, Runit, S6, Dinit, Shepherd.

Systemd has dominated in Linux, but not in BSD. It is the default in Debian, OpenSUSE, RHEL, and Arch.