Switching init systems in Devuan

I have been running a hard install of Devuan for about 4 years.
I started as Devuan3 and it has survived inline upgrades to Devuan 4 and then 5.
I stated with the sysVinit init system… That is Devuan’s default. All the packages are geared to work with sysVinit.

Then I added runit to Devuan (without removing sysVinit).
All that happened was the init process (PID#1) was now started by runit. All the user services were still managed by sysVinit.
If I wanted a service to be managed by runit, I had to write a set of runit scripts for that daemon, and use the runit link farm technique to start/stop it.

So Devuan does not fully support runit. Its packages do not install any runit scripts, the user has to do it.
I decided therefore to remove runit, and just use sysVinit, but to add OpenRC so that I had some easy commands for starting/stopping daemons.
The swapover is quite easy

apt-get purge runit-init
apt-get purge runit-services
cold boot
apt-get install openrc
reboot using a special script

It now boots with OpenRC starting the init process, and
all the packages have their startup scripts in /etc/init.d
and it is easily managed with the OpenRC commands.

OpenRC is the default init system of Gentoo and Alpine.
My Devuan now looks like Gentoo, at least as far as init is concerned.

So two conclusions

• switching init systems in Devuan is easy
  • if you are going to use Devuan, use the init system(s) that
    is best supported - ie sysVinit alone or sysVinit with OpenRC.

It is interesting to note where the term RC comes from.
There used to be a command in Unix called rc… it stood for ‘run commands’.
What rc used to do was take a file containing a list of commands, and run them one at a time in sequence… rather like a shell script, but without starting a new shell to run them in.
The BSD distros still use rc . OpenRC is not the same as the