Trouble with CUPS

When I use localhost :631 to manage my printers in Debian , I get a list of 2 available printers. One works OK.
The other ( a Brother inkjet printer on an ethernet connection) is listed OK, but when I try to print a test page it says the following

I dont have kerberos turned on , and there is nowhere to enter a username and password?

The same printer in Devuan works fine
I uninstalled and reinstalled CUPS, but it made no difference.
The only thing I can think of is the printer drivers are wrongly installed in Debian … strange because everything used to work? The drivers have to be manually installed from .deb files. Maybe an update corrupted them?

Any ideas welcome.

Maybe @kovacslt will come in. He’s an expert with Debian.

Hello… Someone called my name :smiley:
Actually, I’m no expert, I consider myself a power user of Debian.
@nevj, I’ve never seen this error. What system are you on?

Anyway, I found this:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=235841

May this be relevant to you?

What does
sudo lpstat -v
output?

I am on Debian 11. It is up to date.
So I have the same CUPS as in your Debian.

Yes that is exactly my error. But it only happens for my Brother inkjet printer when I try to print a testpage. For the other printer, an OKI pageprinter, it behaves normally and I get a test page printed. Both printers are ethernet linked.

I also have Devuan 4. There is no problem with CUPS in Devuan.
I wonder if systemd is involved? That would be the only difference between Debian and Devuan

Thanks
Neville

Are both printers set up using the result of the sudo lpstat -v command? Of course, modified to select the specific printer.

My Canon TR8600 series when queried with the sudo lpstat -v command returns:
ipp://Canon%20TR8600%20series._ipp._tcp.local/

This avoids the difficulties of the ip address changing over time, as you may know.

1 Like

CUPS can be a piece of crap sometimes with it’s bullshit network ACL’s…