Ubuntu Budgie - solved my problem

I won’t go through it again, but the short version is that I have been having a blast playing with Linux distros, By the standards of this forum, I am a novice. A user. I like to work through a DTE as much as possible and I like my stuff to work.

Which brings me to a problem I had. Through MULTIPLE runs and installs of several distros, a Dell Inspiron with a Gen 8 i7 and 12 GB RAM was performing perfectly horribly. Load times were running in the 5 minute range. Once it got up and going, it was fine, but these load issues had me convinced it was an HD issue, probably with partitions, maybe with encrypted partitions. I was running Zorin when the problem first got insufferable. I switched to a clean install of Pop! OS and it didn’t do any better. I tried several reinstalls, some troubleshooting in Terminal to rid myself of some partitions and other tricks I read online. Nothing worked. And it could have been a different issue altogether.

I have been impressed with Solus Budgie (and not impressed with Ubuntu in general use), but a lot of online help suggested Ubuntu. I chose the Budgie flavor and got to work loading it on a thumb drive. I did a clean install using the ZFS file system and the computer runs beautifully (EDIT: WITHOUT ENCRYPTION).

So for all my running down of Ubuntu, it was the magic sauce that got this one back up to speed. I still like other distros better, but I must say, it works when others didn’t.

2 Likes