Experiences of a 50+ year old first-time Linux user

I had dabbled in Linux a few years back and followed the route of so many others, starting my journey into Linux with Mint OS. I did not document my journey, but I am going to, in general and broad terms, describe my overall experiences and impressions for those who, like I did, decide to plunge into Linux. I am a media guy by trade, mostly on the management and operations side of things. I am not a tech expert and I did find terminal command line work a tiny bit intimidating early on. That said, I’ve spent YEARS working in both Apple’s iOS and Windows’ various incarnations. I have used Android phones for the last several years, breaking with Apple iPhones due to frustrating tech support issues and hardware issues that Apple would not address on fairly new phones. So that’s my introduction to this piece.

I had a lot of aging computers lying around and decided to get some use out of them as travel computers, clunkers, beaters, gifts to folks like my brother who refuses to buy his own, but who is addicted to an Apple iPad. In researching how to convert those gen 3 and gen 4 i3 and i5 processors to a machine that would work, I dove into Linux. Mint was my starting point.

Remember, I am a USER, not a programmer, a hacker, etc. I found Mint perfectly acceptable, even good, but there was a lot I could see happening “under the hood.” Long command strings of text would appear at startup. Working inside Mint was not always fun for me. I like to work INSIDE of a GUI, not outside of one. Spoiled by Apple in the early days, I guess. I think a lot of Mint, but I found that its aging theme and layouts were a little too Windows XP for me. I stuck with it for a few months before folding the computer up and going back to my Gen 9 i7 running Windows 10.