Ubuntu 20.10 Slow app Loading

Hey guys I’m new to Ubuntu and I’m facing some problems :sweat_smile:.

Before installing Ubuntu i was using Linux Mint ( i used it for two months ) everything was fine, now i wanted to try another Linux Distro so I chose Ubuntu.

Unfortunately i faced two problems the first one was Boot time it boots in 1min and half compared to Mint that boot in 1min and 10 15 seconds, well that’s not a big difference even if it’s bothering me a little i don’t care about it cause i have an HDD and it’s known that HDD is slow at booting.

The second problem (The one that’s bothering me a lot) I’m facing is Application loading time, it takes more than 5 seconds to launch for the first time, Firefox take more than 10 seconds, VLC takes 10s, Inkscape 14s-15s, while in Mint it takes less than 5 seconds (almost never reach 5s), and Firefox takes 7 - 8 seconds.

is this normal ? is there any solution for this ? I tried installing gtk2 module and i found a video in YouTube about this problem but nothing is working for me.

Here are my specs:

CPU: Intel i5-7200U

RAM: 8GB

HDD: 1TB

And Thanks in advance :pray::heart:.

Hi,

I am guessing that it could be the ‘snap issue’. Firefox should open the same, though.

Anyway, could you please provide the output of the following command:

snap list
3 Likes

Thanks for your reply here is the output :

> Name               Version                     Rev    Tracking         Publisher      Notes
> core               16-2.47.1                   10185  latest/stable    canonical✓     core
> core18             20200929                    1932   latest/stable    canonical✓     base
> flutter            0+git.4d37aa3               36     latest/stable    flutter-team✓  classic
> gnome-3-28-1804    3.28.0-19-g98f9e67.98f9e67  145    latest/stable    canonical✓     -
> gnome-3-34-1804    0+git.3556cb3               60     latest/stable/…  canonical✓     -